2027 Most Affordable Online Pediatric NP Programs (PNP)

The health of children in the United States is facing growing challenges, with recent data revealing an increase in chronic conditions among youth, including asthma, obesity, and developmental disorders. Approximately 97 percent of children have a usual source of healthcare, yet increased demand and workforce shortages create barriers to timely and specialized care.

Pediatric nurse practitioners (PNPs) play a crucial role in addressing this demand by providing expert care, managing chronic illnesses, and promoting wellness for infants, children, and adolescents across diverse healthcare settings.

Pediatric NPs are trained to conduct comprehensive health assessments, diagnose acute and chronic pediatric conditions, prescribe medications, and offer family-centered health education and counseling. Their competencies also extend to collaborating with multidisciplinary teams to improve care quality and advocating for children’s health in schools, hospitals, and communities.

With an expanding pediatric population and rising healthcare needs, the demand for qualified pediatric nurse practitioners is projected to grow significantly. To practice, PNPs must complete graduate-level education and obtain certification through the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB) or a similar accredited body.

Available graduate degree pathways for nurse practitioners may include:

  • MSN-PNP Bridge Program: Also called RN-MSN, RN-MSN Bridge, or RN-BSN-MSN, this type of program is designed for nurses who have earned an associate’s degree in nursing (ADN), a nursing diploma, or an RN license with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree.
  • MSN-PNP: Also called BSN-to-MSN, this type of graduate program is designed for graduates of bachelor of science in nursing (BSN) programs.
  • BSN to DNP-PNP and MSN to DNP-PNP: Doctor of nursing practice (DNP) programs may be offered to applicants with a BSN or MSN and include courses to prepare graduates for pediatric practice.
  • Post-Master’s PNP Certificate: Designed for MSN graduates who may or may not have earned an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) specialization and want to move into pediatric practice.

To assist aspiring pediatric nurse practitioners in finding affordable PNP master’s, doctoral, and post-master’s certificate programs, HealthcareDegree.com has compiled a list of the 20 most affordable online pediatric nurse practitioner programs, both by in-state and out-of-state tuition prices.

These rankings are based on tuition data HealthcareDegree.com collected from its sister site NPSchools.com in 2026 from over 1,300 online nurse practitioner programs. Each list is ordered according to the lowest in-state or out-of-state tuition prices. Tuition information is as current as possible, the latest published by each school at the outset of the 2026-2027 academic year.

Featured PNP Programs
Rasmussen University - Online MSN - Pediatric Primary Care Nurse PractitionerProgram Website
×

THANK YOU FOR YOUR INTEREST IN Southern New Hampshire University Online MS - Construction Management

Most Affordable In-State Online PNP Programs in 2027

Check out the 30 most affordable online PNP programs by the total cost of in-state tuition in 2027. This tuition applies only to residents of the state where the program is based, and some programs do not accept out-of-state students. The tuition cost listed is the estimated tuition cost of the entire program, and not the cost per semester or year.

RankProgramTuition
(In-State)
Clinical HoursCampus Visits
1Texas Tech University (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Track
$13,728.82
($280.18 / credit)
5766
2Texas Tech University (Texas)
MSN – Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Track
$14,289.18
($280.18 / credit)
6305
3Texas Woman’s University (Texas)
MSN – Primary Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$14,535.00
($323.00 / credit)
7801
4University of Nevada Reno (Nevada)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
$17,629.50
($383.25 / credit)
7801
5SUNY – Stony Brook University (New York)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP
$21,195.00
($471.00 / credit)
6007
6SUNY – Stony Brook University (New York)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP
$21,195.00
($471.00 / credit)
6007
7University of Texas – Arlington (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$22,632.00
($552.00 / credit)
7200
8Old Dominion University (Virginia)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$23,814.00
($486.00 / credit)
5603
9University of Texas – Arlington (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
$24,840.00
($552.00 / credit)
7200
10University of South Alabama (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (post-BSN pathway)
$26,730.00
($594.00 / credit)
6001
11University of South Alabama (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (post-BSN pathway)
$26,730.00
($594.00 / credit)
6001
12University of Texas – El Paso (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$27,048.00
($552.00 / credit)
6759
13University of Texas – El Paso (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
$27,048.00
($552.00 / credit)
7659
14Cedarville University (Ohio)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$31,815.00
($707.00 / credit)
8004
15University of Alabama at Birmingham (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP
$33,480.00
($744.00 / credit)
Not specified4
16University of Alabama at Birmingham (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP
$33,480.00
($744.00 / credit)
Not specified4
17University of Missouri (Missouri)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$33,736.50
($661.50 / credit)
7503
18University of South Alabama (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP (RN-to-MSN for RNs with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree)
$33,858.00
($594.00 / credit)
6001
19University of South Alabama (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP (RN-to-MSN for RNs with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree)
$33,858.00
($594.00 / credit)
6001
20University of Texas – Arlington (Texas)
RN to MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP
$35,038.00
($461.03 / credit)
Not specified0
21University of Missouri – Kansas City (Missouri)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$35,857.00
($779.50 / credit)
6605
22Herzing University (Wisconsin)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$36,960.00
($770.00 / credit)
5850
23University of Colorado – Denver (Colorado)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Primary Care
$37,647.00
($801.00 / credit)
5404
24University of Texas – Arlington (Texas)
RN to MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP
$37,654.00
($470.68 / credit)
Not specified0
25Spring Arbor University (Michigan)
MSN – Pediatric NP (Primary Care)
$39,850.00
($797.00 / credit)
5001
26University of Colorado – Denver (Colorado)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Acute Care
$40,050.00
($801.00 / credit)
5854
27University of Missouri – Kansas City (Missouri)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
$40,534.00
($779.50 / credit)
6605
28University of Alabama at Birmingham (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP (RN to MSN Bridge)
$41,664.00
($744.00 / credit)
Not specified4
29University of Alabama at Birmingham (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP (RN to MSN Bridge)
$41,664.00
($744.00 / credit)
Not specified4
30Maryville University (Missouri)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP (MSN PNP)
$42,300.00
($900.00 / credit)
5800

Most Affordable Out-of-State Online PNP Programs in 2027

The following is a listing of the 30 most affordable out-of-state online PNP programs in 2027 by estimated total tuition cost (for the entire program, not per semester or year). This list only includes non-resident tuition data, meaning the tuition cost for a person not living in the state in which the program is based.

RankProgramTuition
(Out-of-State)
Clinical HoursCampus Visits
1SUNY – Stony Brook University (New York)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP
$25,425.00
($565.00 / credit)
6007
2SUNY – Stony Brook University (New York)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP
$25,425.00
($565.00 / credit)
6007
3University of South Alabama (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (post-BSN pathway)
$26,730.00
($594.00 / credit)
6001
4University of South Alabama (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (post-BSN pathway)
$26,730.00
($594.00 / credit)
6001
5Texas Tech University (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Track
$28,861.00
($589.00 / credit)
5766
6Texas Tech University (Texas)
MSN – Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Track
$30,039.00
($589.00 / credit)
6305
7Old Dominion University (Virginia)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$31,801.00
($649.00 / credit)
5603
8Cedarville University (Ohio)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$31,815.00
($707.00 / credit)
8004
9University of Texas – Arlington (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$32,062.00
($782.00 / credit)
7200
10University of Alabama at Birmingham (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP
$33,480.00
($744.00 / credit)
Not specified4
11University of Alabama at Birmingham (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP
$33,480.00
($744.00 / credit)
Not specified4
12University of Missouri (Missouri)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$33,736.50
($661.50 / credit)
7503
13University of South Alabama (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP (RN-to-MSN for RNs with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree)
$33,858.00
($594.00 / credit)
6001
14University of South Alabama (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP (RN-to-MSN for RNs with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree)
$33,858.00
($594.00 / credit)
6001
15University of Texas – Arlington (Texas)
RN to MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP
$35,038.00
($461.03 / credit)
Not specified0
16University of Texas – Arlington (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
$35,190.00
($782.00 / credit)
7200
17University of Missouri – Kansas City (Missouri)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$35,857.00
($779.50 / credit)
6605
18Herzing University (Wisconsin)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$36,960.00
($770.00 / credit)
5850
19University of Nevada Reno (Nevada)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
$37,030.00
($805.00 / credit)
7801
20University of Texas – Arlington (Texas)
RN to MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP
$37,654.00
($470.68 / credit)
Not specified0
21University of Texas – El Paso (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$38,318.00
($782.00 / credit)
6759
22University of Texas – El Paso (Texas)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
$38,318.00
($782.00 / credit)
7659
23Spring Arbor University (Michigan)
MSN – Pediatric NP (Primary Care)
$39,850.00
($797.00 / credit)
5001
24University of Missouri – Kansas City (Missouri)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
$40,534.00
($779.50 / credit)
6605
25University of Alabama at Birmingham (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP (RN to MSN Bridge)
$41,664.00
($744.00 / credit)
Not specified4
26University of Alabama at Birmingham (Alabama)
MSN – Pediatric Acute Care NP (RN to MSN Bridge)
$41,664.00
($744.00 / credit)
Not specified4
27Maryville University (Missouri)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care NP (MSN PNP)
$42,300.00
($900.00 / credit)
5800
28Rasmussen University (Minnesota)
MSN – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
$45,634.53
($661.37 / credit)
6701
29Regis College (Massachusetts)
MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$48,806.00
($1,061.00 / credit)
8000
30Herzing University (Wisconsin)
RN to MSN – Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
$49,280.00
($770.00 / credit)
6300

Find an Affordable Online Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Program

These online PNP programs ranked by affordability can open up opportunities you might have yet to consider to earn a graduate degree or certificate and move into the world of pediatric nursing. They are designed for working nurses to continue working while earning an affordable graduate education.

These online PNP programs offer affordable tuition and flexible online learning modes, and the BSN to MSN programs can be completed in two to three years on a part-time basis. Those attending full-time can complete the programs more quickly. Note that DNP programs take about four years to complete part-time. With the tremendous need for nurse practitioners, these PNP programs can provide a viable and necessary career pathway without the heavy burden of more expensive tuition.

Farheen Gani

Farheen Gani

Writer

Farheen Gani is a writer and research expert in healthcare degrees. She has written about healthcare career scholarships, audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and reproductive health specialists, among other topics, since 2019. She writes about healthcare, technology, education, and marketing. Her work has appeared on websites such as Tech in Asia and Foundr, as well as top SaaS blogs such as Zapier and InVision. You can connect with her on LinkedIn and Twitter (@FarheenGani).

Related Articles